98 Days

I haven’t entirely decided how I’m going to organize this blog or what I’m specifically going to write about, but this is on my mind right now so here it goes…

Yes, 98 days until I graduate from James Madison University with a degree in Hospitality Management. I’ve had a wonderful college experience, loved living in the stunning Shenandoah Valley (and Florence, Italy), and believe it has built me into an adventurous and passionate person.  Now I just have to figure out what to do with that.

Over the last few months, that fact has been setting in a little deeper every day and I’m desperately trying to keep myself together.

“I don’t have a job yet.”

“Another rejection, I must not be good enough.”

“Why am I even applying for this? I think I’d rather be homeless.”

These thoughts swirl around my head every single day and I try to hold onto the truth that God is faithful… more closed doors lead to open ones right?

Patience.

On a cheerier note, I’m going to graduate and I can see the finish line! Although it is a scary thought (the adulting thing ya know?), it is also so freeing.

I have the entire world and I can go anywhere. How exciting is that?!

But yes, there is that thing called money that I need in order to survive and “go anywhere” which that brings me back to the whole employment issue…

I am going to choose to view my current situation on the positive, freeing side where I am patient and excited about my future, because when has negativity gotten me anywhere?

.

.

.

January is for soup.  It’s warm and it’s in a bowl – so naturally it’s comforting and the dead of winter cold calls for comfort. This week I tried something new and it is packed with lean protein, vitamin A, and vitamin C.

Sweet Potato Lentil Soup (gluten free/dairy free/vegetarian/vegan)

2 sweet potatoes, chopped into bite-sized pieces

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt & pepper

Throw these together, spread out on a baking sheet, and roast in oven at 400 degrees until soft, 20-30 minutes

^ I did this the night before so I could make it between classes!

In a pot add

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 medium onion, chopped

1 clove garlic

Sautée these ingredients and then add

2 cups chicken broth or vegetable stock

2 cups coconut milk (any kind you like)

2 cups of water

^ You can add more or less of either of these depending on how thick you like your soup

1 tablespoon curry powder

2 teaspoons paprika

Using a regular blender or an immersion blender, blend liquid and sweet potatoes together, put the mixture back into the pot, and add

1 cup uncooked lentils (these will soak up a lot of liquid so if it seems too thick a few minutes in add some water

Bring to a boil and simmer for 15-20 minutes, until lentils are soft.

Add salt and pepper to taste, some cilantro, and a squeeze of lime to top it off! 

RK

One thought on “98 Days

Leave a Reply

