Laughter

This blog post is dedicated to Uncle Tom.

 

I love to laugh. I love the way my abs start to hurt when I’m laughing so hard that I can’t breathe. Then every time I think of whatever it is that made me laugh in the first place, I start laughing again, even if it’s years later.

My Uncle Tom had the best laugh. His laugh made me laugh. I didn’t even need to understand anything he was saying to be able to laugh with him because when his hearty chuckle broke out into a kind of high pitched squeal and his face turned tomato red, I couldn’t control the grin making it’s way onto my own face.  Just thinking about the memories we shared telling stories and laughing together on cool summer nights in Michigan makes it impossible for me not to smile.

Although I am deeply saddened by the loss of such a kindhearted, intelligent, and godly person, I am so blessed to have had an uncle that brought so much joy to my life and made my heart so full with something as simple as laughter.

It’s times like this when I find it so difficult to choose joy or let alone find it anywhere; but thanks be to God for the beauty of the Cross. When I give my pain and sorrow to Him, He will surely bring healing and joy.

 

“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” Job 8:21

 

 

 

RK

One thought on “Laughter

  1. Thank you. We still can’t believe he’s gone, but we know where he is and that we’ll see him again. I cling to that promise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

